Back to Chicago

I’m heading back to school tomorrow. Heading back, it should be noted, to discuss with my advisor my newly-declared major. Let’s see what else I’ve accomplished this year.

I wrote a book.

I submitted a short story to seven magazines.

I declared two majors.

I dealt with the anxiety of growing a whole year older.

I got straight As. Two quarters in a row!

I gained some idea of what I want out of a career.

I learned that I can be strong by myself and with other people.

All in all, I think 2010 was a successful year. It was, of course, The Year of the Muser, but that doesn’t mean I can start slacking now. The Musers have started posting their Goals for 2011 in the Clubhouse, and that’s given me plenty of time to think about what I want to do.

Here’s a sampling.

Send out a query for a newly edited book.

Begin to pull in some thoughts about when I want to graduate.

Send out at least two new short stories to magazines.

Start learning a new language.

Eat more good food.

I also have a serious-like New Years Resolution: to take responsibility for my successes as much as I do for my failures.

And lastly, I have a neat little year-long project for 2011. But more on that later. (Probably tomorrow.)

Leave a Reply

